Providing leadership in property valuation, administration, and tax policy in the State of Texas




Become a member

Join us today and become a part of our growing community.

Benefits of membership include:
  • Discounts on courses
  • Earn CTA Designation
  • Quarterly TAN - Texas Assessor News Magazine
  • TAAO Awards Recognizing the Best in the Profession
  • Member Scholarships for TAAO Education
  • ... and much more!



TAAO President
Melissa Fernandez




Upcoming Events

2024 Spring Board

TAAO has your educational needs!


Register now »

30 - Ethics

TAAO has your educational needs!


Register now »

RTA/C Review

TAAO has your educational needs!


Register now »
"Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn." 
Benjamin Franklin

Certification Page

Latest News


Happenings Around Your Local Chapters!

North Plains Chapter
Congratulations to the following chapter members:
Teresa Garth, Death Smith County, Marillyn Albert Award
Greg Looney, Potter Randall CAD, CTA/Appraiser of the Year
Jeremy Laureano, Potter Randall CAD, Member of the Year 
Patti Combs, Texas Department of Transportation, Affiliate Member of the Year
Chris Rivera, Moore County Tax Office, Up-and-Coming Member Award

Concho Valley Chapter
Concho Valley Chapter of TAAO & TAAD met at 1:30pm on Jan. 18, 2023 at Napoli’s Restaurant in San Angelo.  Sharon Baxter, McCreary, Veselka, Bragg & Allen, P.C., gave a presentation on Homestead Exemptions.
Their next meeting is scheduled for April 18, 2023, hosted by Tom Green CAD.  The program will be on Appraisal Notices & ARBs.
Great going!

Central Texas Chapter
Region 9 Chapter of TAAO held their last meeting jointly with the Centra-Plex Region 12 TAAD Chapter, March 3rd, 2023.  The meeting was held at the McLennan County Appraisal District in Waco, Tx.
Due to a board resignation, Tammy Williams, Bell CAD, volunteered to be in a dual role as Vice President of both TAAO & TAAD until elections are held in November 2023. 
Thank You Tammy Williams for stepping up!

Red River Chapter
The chapter held its first quarter meeting on March 10, 2023.  Topics presented were Statistics and Methodology used to prepare Notices, by Dan Conatser and current Bills introduced for the 88th Legislative Session by Doug Smithson.  Their chapter nominated and elected Mary Thompson to serve as Regional Director for the 2024-25 year.  
Congratulations Mary Thompson.

Far West Chapter
On Feb. 15, 2023, the chapter started the year with the Installation of Officers Dinner.  This was their 1st meeting of the year.  Their plan is to set up committees and recruit volunteers and members.  They have set a goal to break the 2022 paid membership record of 75.  They are also hoping to increase their presence at the 2023 TAAO Conference.
Way to go!

Rio Grande Valley Chapter
Held their 55th Annual Tip-of-Texas in South Padre, Texas, on Feb 3-4, 2023.  They had 140 attendees.  Those who attended were able to earn 6.15 CEs for the educational sessions.  They also awarded two scholarships in the amount of $250.00.
Awesome job!  Keep up the good work!

Collin County Chapter
Congratulations to Coy Johnson, Kaufman CAD.  During the March 30th, 2023 meeting, he was named Trustee of the Chapter.  The chapter is working on changing their name to better suit the area and members they serve.  
Stay Tuned!

Gulf Coast Chapter
Cy-Fair ISD is hosting the chapter’s Spring Seminar, April 17th, 2023.  Attendees will receive 6 CEs for various topics. Gulf Coast Chapter continues to look for innovative ways to engage their members.

 Permian Basin Chapter
Their 1st quarter meeting was held March 9th, 2023.  They have established a committee to review their Bylaws.  Their focus will be on Nominations.
Taking Charge!